Tag Archives: History

Music Access, Inc. signs TIERRA

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (July 6, 2016) On Monday, June 27, 2016 the legendary group from Los Angeles, TIERRA officially signed with Dallas, Texas based Music Access, Inc., spearheaded by CEO Robert Gonzalez, a 20 year veteran of the music industry. Accompanied by industry veteran Rikki Rincon, President of Music Access Latino, a division of Music Access, Inc, together, the TIERRA and the Music Access, Inc team will release the latest and long anticipated new CD with a date yet to be determined, wherever music is sold, both nationally and internationally.

Over 40 years ago in Los Angeles, California brothers Rudy and Steve Salas aka the “Salas Brothers”, formed a group of guys doo wopping and singing some classic oldies and a movement that continues to entertain legions of fan across the USA and around the world by the name TIERRA. Their biggest hit was the 1980 remake of The Intruders’ 1967 hit “Together”, written by Gamble & Huff, which reached #18 on the Billboard Hot 100, and #9 on the US Billboard R&B chart. TIERRA has the distinction of being the first Latino band to have four songs on the national chart with two of them in the Top 100 at the same time. Legends is what we have in TIERRA and the many awards, accolades, television appearances, not to mention performing as backup for the King of Soul, James Brown, TIERRA have done it all.  From American Bandstand, The Merv Griffin Show, American Music Awards to being the first Chicano group to perform at the prestigious Carnegie Hall, TIERRA are in a class of their own.

Music Access, Inc, CEO, Robert Gonzalez fills with emotion as we prepare for the next chapter of TIERRA by stating the following, “Something magical is hard to find in this business, but not with TIERRA. TIERRA is a part of our history, part of the backbone of a very special era and master musicians that have withstood the test of time. We are honored and humbled to house the next chapter in the journey of such an amazing band.” For more information regarding TIERRA and this new venture, bookings and interviews you may contact Music Access, Inc. at 972-686-7770 Ext 14. For all media related information contact Rikki Rincon at r.rincon@musicaccessinc.com. Be on the lookout for a very special announcement soon!

Check out the following list of TIERRA’s magnificent history.

  • Tierra (20th Century Records, 1973)
  • Stranded (Salsoul Records, 1975)
  • City Nights (Boardwalk Records, 1980)
  • Together Again (Boardwalk Records, 1981)
  • Bad City Boys (Boardwalk Records, 1982)
  • A New Beginning (Fiesta Records, 1989)
  • Tonight (Thump Records, 1993)
  • Street Corner Gold (Thump Records, 1995)
  • Greatest Hits (Thump Records, 2000)
  • Two Worlds – Dos Mundos (Thump Records, 2001)
  • Welcome to Cafe East L.A. (Thump Records, 2005)
  • The Rare Collection (I.T.P. Records, 2005)
  • Greatest Love Songs (Thump Records, 2007)
  • On the Right Track (M & M Records, 2008)

Rikki Rincon interviews for “We From Dallas” Hip Hop Film Documentary

A team in Dallas, Texas including Joel Salazar, Teddy Cool and others that have spent many years doing research about the real story behind Hip Hop in Dallas and I give them much respect and support for doing it right. They have been doing this by asking industry insiders from all spectrums of the history in Dallas, not just one sided but well balanced. I, my brother and others have been doing this for more than 30+ years and have very deep rooted history in the music scene that goes way beyond what most know. I give mad respect to those that came before me and those I have learned from and worked with, from USHY, my brother Stevie Rincon (aka Stevie D), Joe Lopez, Snake, Big Al (RIP), Shawn “Casanova Roc” and way too many others. Not a day or night goes by that I forget my roots, my leadership, for those hold the key to keeping you balanced today. Dallas always has had this movement from Funk, Go Go to Hip Hop and the richness and diversity in this city will be well presented in this Film Documentary “We From Dallas”. Google it and see the love already coming from Dallas Morning News, Dallas Observer and others.  Also, click here to see trailer. This is just a preview of what’s to come. Peace and as I said in the interview “I am Hip Hop”.